Auto insurance in Florida
What is the Minimum Required for Auto Insurance Coverage in Florida?
The minimum coverage required by the State of Florida is PIP and PD. Personal Injury Protection (protection to third parties) and PD (property damage), applies to drivers who are residents of the State of Florida and any driver who resides temporarily for 90 days or more in our State. If you do not have an active insurance policy and you have a vehicle registered in the state of Florida, your license will be suspended. In order to reinstate your license you must pay a fee of $150 for the first time, second offense fee is $250 or $500 if there were a third time. A person who operates a vehicle must have car insurance active insurance in place with at least the State minimum requirements.
The minimum amount of insurance required for damage to properties (PD)-for a personal auto insurance is 10,000 for each accident.
The minimum amount of insurance required for Personal Injury Protection PIP is 10,000 per accident.
The following coverage while it is not mandatory, it is strongly recommended is called bodily injury liability, this coverage protects you in the event that you are in an at fault accident where there are injuries to others. The minimum limits for this type of coverage on an auto insurance policy is 10,000 per person and 20,000 per accident.
Again these are minimum coverages, which help you to not be involved in a major problem, but if you really want to protect yourself financially, there are many other coverages that are recommended that you add to your auto policy.
When you speak with an agent be sure to educate yourself, so you'll know which coverage is most needed, as well as the amount you must have on each one, the goal is that you have sufficient coverage in case of a catastrophe to cover you and your assets.
This coverage despite the fact that it is not required for drivers seeking insurance in Florida, it is again one of the most recommended, suppose you had an accident with a person who has no insurance or whom does not have enough insurance if you have UM/UIM your medical bills will be covered up to the limits on your policy.
SR 22 is a document that is usually required for drivers who have restored they´re license after a DUI, an accident without insurance, or driving without proof of insurance. This document basically is proof that the driver carries the necessary liability coverage on his policy. If you have received a DUI you must carry a policy with higher liability limits which you must keep for a minimum of 3 years.